Some good sci-fi

As part of my ongoing sickness lying on the couch, I’ve been getting through a few other things I’ve enjoyed.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

I came across The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet after a recommendation on Consider the Tea Cosy. As she says:

If you’re looking for something that’ll change the world, or subtle and intricate plots that’ll have you puzzling for days? This probably isn’t the book for you. 

However, if you’d like a heartwarming story about a diverse cast of larger-than-life characters having an awfully good time? Then you might just love this one.

 It’s a warm, fuzzy book; one that fundamentally sees hope in the universe, and the people in it. Some days, I think that’s really important in a book. If you’re after something fun and easy – and sometimes we all are – I highly recommend this one.

Black Mirror

A friend recommended Black Mirror a while ago, and I’ve just gotten to it now. It’s intense, but excellent.

The series I’m watching is the first one, three hour long episodes. Each is a different story – a short one, comparatively, although still with plenty of room for depth – looking at the playing out of technology, how its changed society. The tone is bleak and pessimistic, but I find it bearable in small doses.

I won’t say too much more, because it’s difficult to without ruining the plot. Just that if you like good TV, and thinking about the future, and have a reasonably strong stomach, this is a great piece of TV.

3 thoughts on “Some good sci-fi

  1. Aoife November 13, 2015 / 9:47 am

    Ah, I’m glad I was able to rec you a sick-sofa book! I read it through two trains and a plane (and an airport departures lounge, of course), and it was just perfect for that.

    As for Black Mirror.. I think it’s brilliant, but definitely not the kind of thing you want to watch last thing before bed, right? Creeped me right out, so it did.

    • quietlypondering November 13, 2015 / 11:09 pm

      Hi! I’ve been reading your excellent blog for a few years now – *waves – lovely to actually chat.
      And agreed – Black Mirror was somewhat intense to watch. Definitely viewing for earlier in the day.

Leave a Reply

